Skip to content

#默沙东

Today 0 items
Oct 13Tue
  1. biopharmadive.com40

    Bausch + Lomb swaps CEOs; Merck reveals anticipated eye drug data

    Bausch + Lomb named board chair Thomas Appio interim CEO after he and Brent Saunders mutually agreed to Saunders' exit, and raised its 2026 earnings outlook. Merck disclosed that proliferative diabetic retinopathy adverse events occurred in 6.7% and 6.1% of remigromig patients versus 0.9% on Lucentis, with the drug not superior on secondary measures. Amgen and AstraZeneca reported nearly 70% of eosinophilic esophagitis patients on Tezspire's highest dose were in remission at 24 weeks; the FDA also approved Asahi Kasei's Hovilpri.

    Why it matters: CEO change at Bausch + Lomb plus pivotal safety and efficacy data on remigromig, Tezspire and a new HSV approval.

Oct 9Fri
  1. biospace.com58

    Merck barred from making subcutaneous Keytruda in 8 European countries

    A Dutch court has barred Merck from producing, importing, stocking or selling Keytruda SC, the subcutaneous formulation of Keytruda, in Belgium, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Sweden, Switzerland and the Netherlands, after finding it infringes a Halozyme Therapeutics patent covering MDASE technology. The decision follows a German preliminary injunction in December, and Merck's appeal of that ruling has a hearing expected next month. Subcutaneous Keytruda brought in $463 million of the franchise's $8.4 billion in second-quarter sales, and a key patent expires in 2028.

    Why it matters: Patent rulings now block subcutaneous Keytruda in key European markets, affecting Merck's strategy ahead of the 2028 patent expiry.

Oct 8Thu
  1. biospace.com40

    Q3 layoffs down YOY, with 90% fewer biopharma employees affected

    BioSpace tallies show biopharma layoffs fell sharply year over year in Q3, with a 56% drop in companies making or projecting cuts and a 90% plunge in affected employees; the 27 companies and 2,568 people affected are the lowest quarterly figures since tracking began in 2024. Eight Big Pharma companies accounted for cuts of 1,845 employees in the quarter, including Bristol Myers Squibb letting go of 265 people in Princeton, New Jersey, GSK closing a German vaccine site with about 650 job losses, and Novartis, whose 2026 disclosures total at least 922 people. Novo CEO Mike Maziar Doustdar said overall headcount has dropped by 13,000 over the past year, including 9,000 layoffs under a restructuring announced in September 2025 targeting around $1.25 billion in annualized savings.

  2. biopharmadive.com40

    Halozyme prevails in patent fight with Merck; Enliven readies anticipated leukemia trial

    A Netherlands court blocked sales of Merck's subcutaneous Keytruda Qlex in eight European countries, siding with Halozyme in a patent dispute over its under-the-skin drug delivery technology. Separately, Enliven Therapeutics reached agreement with the FDA on a late-stage trial of relcobitinib in chronic myeloid leukemia, enrolling 450 people to test superiority at spurring a major molecular response. Halozyme is also challenging Merck in a U.S. court after a win in Germany.

    Why it matters: Patent ruling blocks subcutaneous Keytruda across Europe and FDA-aligned CML trial design sharpens competition for Novartis and Merck.

Oct 7Wed
  1. statnews.com53

    STAT+: Merck suffers a setback in Europe over its new Keytruda formulation

    A Dutch court ruled that Merck infringed a Halozyme Therapeutics patent covering a subcutaneous formulation of Keytruda and ordered the company to stop manufacturing and marketing that version in several European countries, including France, Italy, Sweden, Switzerland and the Netherlands. The decision is part of a widening patent dispute over the cancer treatment. Patients can still access the intravenous version, which is unaffected by the order. Merck was asked for comment.

    Why it matters: Court-ordered halt of a subcutaneous Keytruda formulation affects sales in several European markets.

Sep 30Wed
  1. endpoints.news41

    Merck licenses a KRAS G12D inhibitor for $400M upfront

    Merck is licensing a KRAS G12D inhibitor from entrepreneur and synthetic chemist Tao Hu for $400 million upfront. Hu previously sold a different KRAS G12D inhibitor to AstraZeneca in 2023. Terms beyond the upfront payment and next steps were not disclosed.

    Why it matters: Large upfront licensing deal for a KRAS G12D inhibitor by a repeat seller of such assets.

  2. statnews.com40

    STAT+: Merck discontinues a crucial antibiotic despite concerns over superbug resistance

    Merck has stopped supplying Recarbrio in the U.S., a three-drug combination antibiotic injection approved seven years ago for serious infections in adults and children, including hospital- or ventilator-associated pneumonia and complicated urinary tract and stomach infections in patients with limited or no treatment options. The company did not explain the decision and did not disclose Recarbrio sales in its regulatory filings. The FDA had designated the drug a treatment of last resort to mitigate antibiotic resistance, which limited its market potential.

    Why it matters: A large drugmaker withdrawing a last-resort antibiotic revives concern about industry commitment to antibiotics amid resistance.

Sep 29Tue
  1. BioCentury68

    Merck turns to China-based SciBrunch for KRAS program, pays $400M up front: Deals Report

    Merck & Co. has licensed global rights to SPR2015, a preclinical KRAS G12D molecular glue inhibitor from China-based SciBrunch, paying $400 million up front. The deal follows reported failed M&A negotiations with Revolution Medicines in the $30 billion range, after that company reported in April that daraxonrasib led to a survival benefit in pancreatic cancer patients. Further deal terms for the SciBrunch agreement were not disclosed.

    Why it matters: Large upfront licensing payment by Merck for a preclinical KRAS G12D program after failed Revolution Medicines talks.

Sep 28Mon
  1. biospace.com45

    Merck inks up to $2.13B deal to dine with SciBrunch, gain rights to preclinical KRAS inhibitor

    Merck has licensed exclusive global rights to SciBrunch Therapeutics' preclinical oral KRAS G12D (ON) inhibitor SPR2015, paying $400 million upfront with milestone payments that could bring the total to $2.13 billion. The deal has closed, and Merck recorded a pre-tax charge of $400 million, about 13 cents per share, in Q3. SciBrunch expects SPR2015 to enter human trials by the end of this year. The same day, Merck and Daiichi Sankyo withdrew an accelerated approval request for ifinatamab deruxtecan in extensive-stage small cell lung cancer after the FDA said the data did not support the filing.

    Why it matters: Large licensing deal for a preclinical KRAS G12D inhibitor plus a withdrawn FDA filing shapes Merck's oncology pipeline.

Aug 24Mon
  1. fiercepharma.com47

    Daiichi Sankyo promotes Ken Keller to lead new commercialization unit

    Daiichi Sankyo has promoted Ken Keller, who has led its global oncology business for five years, to chief commercialization officer of a new globally integrated commercialization unit starting April 1. The restructured organization covers five regions, with internal appointments including Yuichi Yomasu in China, Markus Kosch in Europe, Marcelo Goncalves in Latin America, Kenji Shigeta in North America and Nobuo Murakami in Japan, Asia and the Pacific. The unit supports Daiichi Sankyo's plan to become a top-five oncology company by 2035 and to make five drugs available in 20 new indications by 2030.

CBACBA Frontier Insights (CFI)Chinese Biopharmaceutical Association (CBA)www.cba-usa.org